BrittaneyNichole’s #CBR5 Review #3: Hidden by P.C. and Kristin Cast

284px-Hidden

This is book number 10 in The House Of Night Series.  I started reading these books when I was a teenager and I really enjoyed them, but now I find that the books are annoying.  The most annoying thing about these book with each new installment is the lead character Zoey Redbird.  She’s supposed to be the character that you root for, and I did in the beginning, but now I just want to punch her in the face.  I find the supporting characters to be more enjoyable even the villains.

The House Of Night Book series is about Zoey Redbird, a girl who becomes one of the most special vampyres in the whole universe, and her journey to figure out how to defeat darkness with the help of her new vampyre friends.  This book, Hidden, takes place when everyone starts to believe Zoey and her friends about Neferet being the ultimate villain.  The events in this book are basically everyone’s reaction to discovering this.  Some people become more evil and psychotic and other start to become nice and want to help Zoey find Neferet and bring her to justice.  Since that is all that happens in the beginning of the book it was incredibly boring to read.  Some of the chapters where just people sitting around and whining about theories of what to do.  No real action takes place against the villain until everyone learns that Neferet has kidnapped Zoey’s grandmother and is slowly killing her.  The final few chapters of the book are about how Zoey and her friends manage to rescue Zoey’s grandmother, and that part of the book is definitely worth a read.

I wouldn’t really recommend this book.  Even though it’s only around 300 pages it takes a while for anything important to actually happen.  It took me way to long to read this book because I kept getting bored with it.  I’m sticking with this series though.  I need to know how it ends.  I feel like I might be disappointed by the ending, because each book since the 8th installment seems to just get worse and more boring.

Leave a Reply

