KatSings’ #CBR5 Review #14: The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

“It’s like everyone tells a story about themselves inside their own head. Always. All the time. That story makes you what you are. We build ourselves out of that story.” 
This book, and the series thus far (the final day, aka the book The Doors of Stone, is as yet unpublished) ranks among my favorite books of all time.  If you are a fan of fantasy, or even just a fan of good literature, I implore you to run out and buy this book immediately.  Go to Amazon.com and order it for your Kindle.  Go to B&N and pick up a hard copy.  I don’t care what form of media you use, but get it now – you’re only cheating yourself by skipping it.

2 thoughts on “KatSings’ #CBR5 Review #14: The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

  1. I love this book so much!! because of this book, I ran up to Patrick Rothfuss at a con and said “i love you so much!” So he signed a book with “i love you too”. yup, i had to explain *that* to my husband.

    Name of the Wind is some of the best story telling I have ever, ever come across. stories within stories, hints in every sentence, hidden songs and rhymes, a town that’s on no map, secret patrons and bitter sisters. If you’re not into fantasy, this book will get you into fantasy, and if you are into fantasy, this book will spoil you forever.

    and now I totally want to do a reread!

  2. I hadn’t heard of this book or author before this week, but it seems to be popping up everywhere! I”m taking it as a sign that I’m meant to read it and just reserved it at my library. Thanks!

Leave a comment