Josephine’s #CBR5 Review #71 : Raising Steam (Discworld #40) by Terry Pratchett

I really struggled with Snuff, the Discworld before this one, as it was my beloved Terry Pratchett, but not as I knew him. All through that book I felt like the narrative was not waving but drowning. It was heartbreaking. It was like chatting to my gran after her first stroke, before her second bigger one took her voice away completely.

Vimes actions and inner monologue were repetitive, things were almost right and still enjoyable but…wrong in many ways. It is hard to come to terms with how such previously sharp and witty and often magical writing had dulled, ‘through a glass darkly’ would sum it up.

So I approached this book with great trepidation and, it was surprisingly enjoyable and easier to read. I have cut and pasted  a link to the best review I have read of Raising Steam, that says a lot of the things I felt far better than I could even if I had the time. Though take heart, it is not actually heartbreaking and worth a read.

18760140

However, I still wish someone close to Sir Terry P would gently and lovingly steer him away form more discworld books. I fear that if they don’t it is the darkness not the amazing sparkle we will remember and that would be very wrong and terribly sad. I want to remember the genius, not how it was cruelly stripped away.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R1BLE1Y8MHRFW6/ref=cm_cr_dp_title?ie=UTF8&ASIN=0857522272&channel=detail-glance&nodeID=266239&store=books

Leave a Reply

