Badkittyuno’s #CBR5 Review #100: Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Image

This book is everything I love about Allie Brosh: she has the ability to make you laugh hysterically by telling you stories about her childhood, but she also connects well with what it means to be an adult.

In the first chapter of this book, she writes a letter to herself as a child, and includes this piece of advice: “To reiterate, no matter how much pepper you eat, it won’t undo the ludicrous amount of salt you ate before it.” Because as a child, she would eat salt. And pepper. And some more salt.

But she also shares some insight into how her brain works (or doesn’t), and I think a lot of that is easy to identify with. She puts the crazy that many of us  feel into pictures and words, and I for one kept thinking, oh yeah…I do that too. For instance, this: “Most people can motivate themselves to do things simply by knowing that those things need to be done. But not me. For me, motivation is this horrible, scary game where I try to make myself do something while I actively avoid doing it. If I win, I have to do something I don’t want to do. And if I lose, I’m one step closer to ruining my entire life. And I never know whether I’m going to win or lose until the last second.” That describes every interaction I’ve ever needed to make due to my finances, and my total lack of ability to motivate myself to make it.

The book itself is gorgeous–all of Brosh’s illustrations look wonderful and the pages are glossy and colorful. She did include some fan favs from the website, but it’s only about 1/3 of the content and she intersperses it nicely with new stuff. She’s a very talented writer and I certainly hope she follows up to this with another collection.

Leave a Reply

