Jen K’s #CBR5 Review #109: The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett

I haven’t seen much buzz on this novel which surprises me because it was definitely one of the more enjoyable books I’ve read this year. There are certainly a few I would rank above this so I’m not entirely sure if this would make my top 10 for the year, but I have a soft spot for novels about readers and people that love books so naturally, the title alone caught my attention. It’s interesting to me how given all the technology that is a part of life now, that all it takes is to set a novel ten to twenty years before the present day, and things that would be completely nonsensical today work again. For example, it actually has to be explained now if characters can’t get in touch with each other at any time. However, place it in the ’90s and practically no one had a cell phone so it doesn’t even have to be acknowledged.

Full review.

Leave a Reply

