The Mama’s #CBR5 Book Swap Post!

goldfinchA big thank you to Captain Tuttle, who sent me a copy of The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt!

Despite the fact that my boss told me the book was a “smart book”, implying that I am not smart (even though he reads trashy biographies so he has no room to judge me and my trashy romance novel loving ways), I’ve heard great things about this book, and I’m excited to start it!

(But it does look like a smart book, so I think I’m going to hold on to it till Christmas break when I can shut out the world and just read.)

Book surprises are the best! Thanks so much!!!

2 thoughts on “The Mama’s #CBR5 Book Swap Post!

  1. I feel myself getting very annoyed at your boss. Romances might not be the most demanding reading material, but they needn’t be stupid, and the majority of people writing and reading them certainly aren’t. I do understand your need to save a more demanding book until you have time to really sink into it, though. In times of stress, I can’t read anything demanding at all, and that’s when romance and young adult fantasy are what keeps me sane. Beautiful escapism without exhausting my brain. I’m currently struggling to write a very demanding exam paper in Norwegian literature and linguistic history, and re-reading Sarah MacLean’s One Good Earl Deserves a Lover when I’m allowing myself breaks. I can’t wait for Monday, when I finally get the essay in, and can allow myself to shelve the coursework books for at least a month.

    • Eh. It’s just friendly banter between the two of us. He reads celebrity biographies like I read trashy romance novels. We both read smart stuff; he just likes to tease me about reading crap like Beautiful Bastard. (Which, can you really blame him?) But don’t worry – I give it right back to him. 🙂
      I know what you mean though. I have to switch back and forth between literature (which the Goldfinch most definitely is), and fluff. And at work, which is where he sees me read during lunch, I’m interrupted so much that I can’t read anything but crappy romance. But if I have a Sunday afternoon alone? That’s when I devour the good stuff!

Leave a Reply

