Ashlie’s #CBR5 Review #35: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Notes from 2011:

LOVED. THIS. SERIES. I am recommending it to everyone I know. I think it was well written, compelling, entertaining, and simply wonderful, and I am sure I will read it again in the future. I was worried I would be let down by the final installment, but I wouldn’t have changed a thing. All Hail Suzanne Collins!

Notes from Thanksgiving 2013:

Again, I sped through this one. It’s the day after Thanksgiving and I got up, got some pumpkin dip leftovers, and read this book cover to cover. I stand by both decisions.

I’ve heard conflicting opinions on the third installment of the series from friends. They felt it was uneven, and could have stood more editing and had a lot of unnecessary exposition. I couldn’t disagree more! It was different than the first two installments, but I stand behind it, and it in fact might be my favorite. It is bittersweet, and I can’t imagine how they are going to film done parts of it, but I found it to be a solid, if not surprising, end to this great trilogy.

Leave a Reply

