Fancypants42’s #CBRV Review #29: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753Stuff like this is the problem with something like CBR. I get a lot of recommendations from the other CBRers and thus end up with redundant reviews. I am pretty sure I got the rec for Eleanor and Park from this site. Wouldn’t swear to it, too lazy to research that, but either way I ended up with a copy of this book. I read it right after my latest John Green indulgence so was skeptical anything could top that. (Of course I didn’t notice the John Green blurb on the back of the book til I was almost finished.)

I started this book last night in the bath. I finished it this afternoon in bed because I couldn’t put it down. I couldn’t get up and do productive Sunday things. I just couldn’t. The fate of Eleanor, and her relationship with Park, was far too important for real life to happen today.

The book switches back and forth between the two 16 year old’s perspectives. One minute you’re in Eleanor’s head, the next in Park’s. Which is so fantastic when the two subjects are insecure teenagers falling in love for the first time. Because it is seemingly a very different experience for everyone right? But both had their own insecurities, their own hopes, and their own fears. It was glorious.

No spoilers but man, this was a good book. I loved the voice/style, I loved the plot and I hated/loved the ending. My romantic little heart could’ve used something a little more specific but the imagineer in me loved that it was open to my interpretation.

It’s rare that a love story about teenagers can be so moving and so real. Because love at that age is both real and unreal. It’s pure but unfounded. It’s youth. This book managed to transcend that idea. Nothing is more real than the feelings between Eleanor and Park.

Leave a Reply

