Malin’s #CBR5 Review #124: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

This is the second book in The Raven Cycle, which according to Stiefvater’s homepage is going to be four books in total. This is not a series where the books stand alone, so if you haven’t already read The Raven Boys, you should probably start there. My review of it is nice and non-spoilery, if you want to read why you should really give it a chance. If you haven’t yet read it, you may want to give this review a miss, as I can’t actually review The Dream Thieves without referring to some pretty spoilery things that happen during the course of the first book. So somewhere else – say a library, to find a copy of book one.

Still here? Then I’m not to blame if you get stuff spoiled. Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle has a bit of an ensemble cast, really, and given the way this book was structured, I suspect that each book in the series is going to focus more on one or a couple of the characters, with the rest taking a backseat for a while. Let’s recap – in The Raven Boys we were introduced to Blue Sargent, an independent teenager raised in a household full of psychic women, yet her only ability is to amplify their visions. She’s known since she was little that if she kisses her true love, he will die. Not that she had anything to worry about, until she met the four boys from the preppy Aglionby Academy who have now become her good friends.

Full review on my blog. 

2 thoughts on “Malin’s #CBR5 Review #124: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. You got your review up before me (not a surprise because I hardly ever write reviews) but I ADORE THIS BOOK! I’m sad you have it 4-stars as it is a SOLID 5 for me! Yes there may be a bit too much sprawl in terms of characters, and I found myself a little stumbly at the beginning as I had forgotten many of the details of the previous book. But I adore everything about it. I felt the sense of pending doom was palpable and delicious. The first book (Raven Boys) felt a lot more “young adulty” with them struggling to pass Latin class, who is Blue going to date, etc. This one moves to a more serious tone and each of the characters feel like they are inexorably headed somewhere unimaginably bad. Even Gansey, the golden child, feels a bit tarnished. And it’s fantastic 😉

    I didn’t love Stiefvaters first books and almost wrote her off completely but she hooked me back in with The Scorpio Races. The Raven Boys series (trilogy? God I hope there are more than three!) has definitely earned a spot on my bookshelf reserved for all time favorites!

  2. As far as I can tell from Stiefvater’s website, there’s going to be four books in total in the series. I really did like the book a lot (it may be upgraded to a 4.5, but while I had no problem with there being added focus on Ronan, I thought Blue was sidelined a bit too much, and possibly reduced a bit too much to being just “the girl”. This series has so much more going for it than just a trite love triangle and a bit of a supernatural mystery. I love the world building, and pretty much every single character. I love the glimpses of Blue’s home life, and the addition of the Grey Man, and the easy acceptance of him by most of the characters, despite his profession.

Leave a Reply

