Fancypants42’s #CBRV Review #23: Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams

“Gordon Way’s astonishment at being suddenly shot dead was nothing compared to his astonishment at what happened next.”
Dirk_Gently_UK_front_coverDirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams is very much a Douglas Adams book. It’s been years since I first discovered the Hitchhiker’s Guide series and fell in love with a writing style that is both unique and timeless. I love the way his unabashed atheism consistently finds its way into his stories and he never holds back. I chuckled so many times as he poked fun at religion throughout the book. The plot is quite zany – time travel, electric monks who exist to believe in things so people don’t have to, two ghosts – one new, one 4 billion years old, a very unusual detective, etc and so on. I loved it. I had such fun experiencing this book. I don’t want to give too much away because it is at its core a mystery. But following Dirk as he slowly puts the whole thing together is something that I could do again and again. I kind of want to reread it just to see what I didn’t pick up on throughout the book the first time…
Douglas Adams is one of my favorite authors and there is no reason for me not to have read this before now. I’ve got a sequel up next – The Long Dark Tea Time of the Soul. I can’t wait. I didn’t think Dirk would be able to hold a candle to Arthur and Ford, but he’s pretty much right up there for me with the best. I pictured him as a sort of British Columbo. There are so many quotes I could share from the book, but I’ll leave it to you to go discover them yourselves.
Leave a Reply

