taralovesbooks’ #CBR5 Review #35: Texts From Bennett by Mac Lethal

16130089

 

Cannonball Read V: Book #35/52
Published: 2013
Pages: 320
Genre: Humor/Nonfiction

**I received an advanced copy of this book from NetGalley. It is expected to be released on September 3, 2013.**

I don’t read a lot of humor books, but I’m a fan of Mac Lethal’s Tumblr blog, Texts From Bennett. The blog is a series of texts between Mac and his younger cousin, Bennett. Bennett is a wanna-be gangster (he thinks he’s in the Crips gang) from Kansas City. Mac is actually a legit hip-hop artist (which I had no idea about until I read the book), but doesn’t play into the rapper stereotype, much to Bennett’s chagrin.

I always wondered how Mac and Bennett’s relationship was formed. They seem so different, including a fairly big age gap between the two (Bennet is a teenager and Mac is 30 in the book). That’s where this book excelled. I went into it expecting a bunch of short stories and jokes at Bennett’s expense and actually found a great story about two very different people becoming great friends.

Read the rest in my blog.

Leave a Reply

