Malin’s #CBR5 Review #156: Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews – triple Cannonball!

It’s my last book of the year, and I’m feeling a bit worn out after a LOT of blogging, so I’m taking the liberty of letting the authors themselves summarise the book (it’s self published), because Ilona writes way better than I:

On the outside, Dina Demille is the epitome of normal. She runs a quaint Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town, owns a Shih Tzu named Beast, and is a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problems should be what to serve her guests for breakfast. But Dina is…different: Her broom is a deadly weapon; her Inn is magic and thinks for itself. Meant to be a lodging for otherworldly visitors, the only permanent guest is a retired Galactic aristocrat who can’t leave the grounds because she’s responsible for the deaths of millions and someone might shoot her on sight. Under the circumstances, “normal” is a bit of a stretch for Dina. 

And now, something with wicked claws and deepwater teeth has begun to hunt at night… Feeling responsible for her neighbors, Dina decides to get involved. Before long, she has to juggle dealing with the annoyingly attractive, ex-military, new neighbor Sean Evans – an alpha-strain werewolf – and the equally arresting cosmic vampire soldier, Arland, while trying to keep her Inn and its guests safe. But the enemy she is facing is unlike anything she’s ever encountered before. It’s smart, vicious and lethal, and putting herself between this creature and her neighbors might just cost her everything. 

Full review on my blog.

17 thoughts on “Malin’s #CBR5 Review #156: Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews – triple Cannonball!

  1. You made it to the Triple after all. Congratulations!!! Now if only Jen would join the two of us by hitting 156 herself, that’d be triple the Triple Cannonball, if you will.

    • I did make it and am going to try not to have quite such a backlog of reviews just at the end of the year next time (when I’m NOT going for the triple). I don’t think Jen is going for the full triple, I think she said she’s now working on CBR6.

  2. I can’t believe three of you yahoos made it to Triple Cannonball. I almost broke my brain doing a double.

    Congratulations! You’ve earned it, and how.

    • Only two of us yahoos, I think. Malin and I. Unless Jen K can reach the Triple Cannonball by the deadline. She’s currently at 145 and said she thinks she can get up to 150. So probably a little short of the mark, but still!

      On a similar subject, this has to be the Cannonball Read with the most people over 100 books, doesn’t it?

      • There’s seven of us for sure. I don’t know if some of Josephine’s reviews will count. She used the same review for multiple reviews, several times.

  3. As Travis said, only he and I actually managed 156 reviews. As far as I know, Jen is currently busy signing up for every reading challenge in the known universe for 2014 and getting ready to beat to 52 again in CBR6.

    It’s been an absolutely record year for Cannonball. More people than I can ever remember completing the single Cannonball, and a huge amount of readers reading a lot more than that to, even if they didn’t necessarily make it all the way to the double Cannonball. For a project aimed at getting people to read more, I think it’s a wonderful success, and we should all be proud of ourselves, whether we’ve blogged three or 156 books (which nearly killed me, btw. Not doing that many again – unless I stop being a teacher first).

    • “Only” made it to 148 – yes, that’s a real failure right there. You did excellently.

      Some of my reading choices of 2013 have absolutely been strategic ones – especially in July, and when trying to finish all my reading challenges in December, while still not having all that much time to read. A lot of books were deemed to big, and thus pushed to 2014′s reading list. It’s the main reason why I didn’t end the year with The Golem and the Jinni, it’s just too big. :)

  4. Phew…TRIPLE! Three books a week is an impressive task not counting all the fabulous reviews! Well done sir, well done indeed.

    Also I’m ashamed to find that as a huge Kate Daniels fan I didn’t know of this book! Of course I’m new to ebooks so hopefully can be forgiven. The issue of course has now been remedied ;)

  5. It’s a great little story, and a very promising start to a series I hope they’ll keep going as a side project. Have you read Ilona Andrews’ Edge books? I like them too, especially the first and third one.

Leave a Reply

