Rochelle’s #CBR5 Review #21: When Nixon Met Elvis by Igor Kultina – with video

NixonElvis2

On the 4th of July, after the fireworks, I came across Drunk History: Washington, D.C., three stories from DC’s history, all told by drunk young men.  The episode told the stories of Deep Throat – the Watergate informant, the assassination of Abraham Lincoln, and when Elvis decided he wanted a DEA badge and asked Nixon if he could have one.   Truth be told, the Lincoln assassination segment was the best – Adam Scott played John Wilkes Booth and the drunk narrator was an awesome bro.  But the Nixon/Elvis segment had some information with which I was not familiar.  Here is a little clip I found:

Drunk History: Elvis Meets Nixon – YouTube.

I knew, of course that Elvis and President Nixon had met, and that Nixon had given him a Drug Enforcement badge, but hadn’t thought about it in depth.  It seemed like there might be some insanity there for me to explore.  I found Igor Kultina’s When Nixon Met Elvis.  I hesitate to call it a book.  It is 44 pages of letters and mostly first person accounts of the meeting and the events surrounding the meeting.   I won’t spoil the crazy for those of you who don’t know the story.  Here is a little excerpt from Elvis’ letter to the President requesting the meeting:

I will be here as long as it takes to get the credentials of a Federal Agent.  I have done an in-depth study of drug abuse and Communist brainwashing techniques and I am right in the middle of the whole thing where I can and will do the most good.  I am Glad to help just so long as it is kept very Private.

I can’t really give this a star rating.  I will be looking for more on this moment in history.  Sometimes truth really is stranger than fiction.

One thought on “Rochelle’s #CBR5 Review #21: When Nixon Met Elvis by Igor Kultina – with video

Leave a Reply

