geekchicohio’s #CBR5 Review #7: A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin

It’s difficult to know how best to review a 1100+ page novel that is just one part of many (seven? is it seven now?), and that took me months and months and months to read. I kept putting A Storm of Swords down to read other books, and then returning to it. I think that’s a comment on its length, but not on its quality. It might be my favorite ASOIAF novel yet.

As this is a series that’s very much in the zeitgeist right now, and one that a lot of people are progressing through at different speeds (and across different media) I’ll stay away from spoilers, but believe me when I say that there are a LOT of twists and turns and surprises in this book.

To restate a thousand other reviews, though:
Martin’s world-building is second to none. It’s not the least bit difficult to believe that this is a civilization with 1000s of years of history, some of it laid out explicitly, much more of it only hinted at.

To put into words just how great this series is:
It took me months and months to read this book, I have two more to go in the series as it stands, and I’m already aching about the fact that I’m going to have to wait for (surely) years for its completion.

Look, this is the GAME OF THRONES series, people. I don’t have to spell it out for you. It’s great, and you’ll love it.
Unless that kind of thing isn’t your cup of tea, but even then you still might.

One thought on “geekchicohio’s #CBR5 Review #7: A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin

  1. Did you have that “I put down/threw the book and couldn’t read it for a few days/weeks” moment that everyone who’s read Storm of Swords seems to have? Because I had it too. Great characters. I hope The Winds of Winter can stand deliver what we’re all looking forward to.

Leave a Reply

