Bunnybean’s #CBR5 Review 4: Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

Gregor_one-210-exp-2My teacher just finished reading this book to the whole class. Its about a boy named Gregor and his baby sister Boots. They get magically transported to the “underland”, which is sort of an underground world. They get sent on a quest to save their father, who is also missing in the underland. The people and creatures who live in the underland tell Gregor that they knew he would come, there was a prophecy about him coming to fight for them.

They meet a lot of different characters along the way: Luxa, who will someday be queen of the underland; Ripred, a rat who fights along with people; Ares, who is really strong; Henry, Luxa’s cousin; Vikus, Luxa’s grandfather; Temp and Tic, who are talking cockroaches; and Gregor’s Dad who has been kidnapped by rats.

I got kind of confused and jumbled up by all of the different characters, because every time I thought I figured out who was who, then more new characters would come.

Gregor and Boots fight against the rats and finally get their dad back.

I liked Tick, Aurora, and Boots. And my favorite part was when they got attacked by spiders.

There are more books about Gregor, and my teacher is soon going to read the second one to us. But if I could choose myself, I don’t think I’d keep reading this series.

You can read more of Bunnybean’s reviews on her mom’s blog.

One thought on “Bunnybean’s #CBR5 Review 4: Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

  1. I also find it confusing with so many characters, and if they happen to have similar names, it’s even worse! Sorry you didn’t like this book, but I bet it will make the next one seem even better!

Leave a Reply

