iamnothamlet’s #CBR5 Review #13: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Recently, I downloaded the free Kindle edition of Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. After reading it, I was extremely disappointed. Not so much in the book itself, but in the incredibly poor quality of the edition. I am mainly writing this review to tell others not to bother with the free Kindle edition.

The typesetting is off, which is especially off-putting in the parts of the book which should be set off as poems. There are also no illustrations, even where the illustrations are explicitly referred to in the text.

With all of these shortcomings, it would seem unfair to evaluate the book itself. It is hard to know how much impact the deficiencies of the text had on my opinion. However, I feel I should state that overall the book did not live up to my expectations. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland has a reputation as witty satire filled with humorous nonsense, but I did not get any sense of that as I read the book. I also failed to see how children would appreciate the story as well. It was much too boring to captivate young minds.

Leave a Reply

