SJfromSJ’s #CBR5 Review #1: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson

ImageAh, The Bloggess. As someone who had been regularly reading her blog but kind of late to that game and not interested in the daunting task of going back to the beginning and catching up, I was extremely excited when this book came out (and subsequently super bummed that I was doing something job-related every time she was stumping the book in New Jersey). I had read many of her present-day antics but had little idea about her roots and why she was the way she was.

While I was delighted to read new stories about my twisted heroine, I was also psyched to re-read the classic that first introduced me to her madness: the Origins of Beyonce, the Giant Metal Chicken. It is a must-read post on her blog and a welcomed chapter in this publication.

The writing style and humor in this book is definitely not for everyone. If you have read a post or two by Jenny in the past and enjoyed it, you will enjoy this book. If you have a really demented sense of humor, you will love this book. If you tend to overanalyze situations and/or jump to illogical conclusions that lead to intense and unfounded anxiety, you will find solace in this book.

One of the big reasons I am a fan of Jenny is her openness about depression and anxiety. I have been going through some lows, and this book not only brought some joy to my life but also made me feel not as crazy. When you start to doubt your own abilities and get really hard on yourself, the best thing to know is that that is the depression talking. It is not real. Hearing that from someone else who goes through the same thing is so comforting.

My favorite part of the book was the very last chapter (You Can’t Go Home Again (Unless You Want to Get Mauled by Wild Dogs)). You would probably never guess it, but there is a very endearing moment that comes out of nowhere, and it gave me hope for my mental struggles.

This is a definite must-read for anyone going through a tough time in their head or who just wants to compare there ridiculous childhood. This book does not disappoint on that front.

2 thoughts on “SJfromSJ’s #CBR5 Review #1: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson

  1. I started reading this the other day when I was ill with a stomach virus, and the taxidermy-type stuff in the beginning was not thrilling me. It wasn’t *really* gross, just too much at the moment. I have to get back to this!!

  2. Beyonce was also my first introduction to the Bloggess! I completely agree with everything you said – I love the funny pieces but was also impressed by the quieter, self reflective moments, like the struggles to have a child. Glad to hear this helped you, too.

Leave a Reply

