CharlottEllamae #CBR5 Review #02 Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

I’m not embarrassed to say that I LOVE True Blood. So much, I seriously considered buying an HBO package just so I could keep up with it ( I didn’t. I’m not THAT crazy.) and because I have so much love for True Blood I figured I would at least like the book, Dead Until Dark, that inspired the show.
 
Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris is set in the fictional Louisiana town of Bon Temps. Sookie Stackhouse is a waitress at a local bar when a vampire walks in and sits down in her section. Vampires have recently “come out of the coffin” since a Japanese company created synthetic blood making it possible for vampires to live without feeding on humans. The vampire’s name is Bill Compton and he is a Civil War veteran. Sookie falls in love with Bill and try to help the people of Bon Temps to accept Bill. Soon, women from Bon Temps start turning up dead with fang marks all over them. Sookie needs to convince the town, and herself, that Bill is not the murderer.
 
I had high expectations when I bought this book. I was going by the long-held belief of mine that the book is always better than the movie/television show. Even if it wasn’t better it had to be at least good, right? No. It turns out that many of my favorite characters are not major players in the book. They may have been mentioned or even had one or two lines but nothing beyond that. 
 
However, enough with comparing it to the show. The book still doesn’t stand by itself. There was little to no character development. Sookie is just a scared waitress who falls in love with a vampire. She never progresses beyond that. With all of the things he goes though one would think she would gain some sort of inner strength. And Bill is a vampire who is kind of a dick. He tells Sookie he loves her but it never really seems true because he’s so moody. The author, Charlaine Harris, also treats us to riveting paragraphs about what each and every character is wearing. Every time someone puts on a new outfit we get told about it down to what hair clip gets put in their hair. It just sort of feels like someone told   Harris she had to write 220 pages and she is struggling to make it to that mark.
 
All in all, I would NOT recommend this book if you have watched True Blood. It really does not stand up to the show. However, I would recommend this book if you’re looking for an easy read. It’s not that the book isn’t interesting, it is. It’s not brilliantly written. A good beach read.
3 thoughts on “CharlottEllamae #CBR5 Review #02 Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

  1. I have read many of them. They are junk food books but entertaining. I originally started reading them to get spoilers about upcoming seasons but the farther I get in the books the more they deviate from the show, which I agree is better. The 5th book’s main plot was just a small subplot in the most recent season. However most likely I will try to read the 6th book before the new season starts, I am too stubborn.

  2. I’ve read all of the books in the series and I love the show. The books are easy reads and quite colorful, but there isn’t any depth. However, they definitely filled the void between seasons. I think it helped that I used to live in the South and love anything that references it or describes the environment. I’m sorry you didn’t like it.

  3. I, too, started with the show and tried to read the books, but I couldn’t make it more than a few pages into the first :(

Leave a Reply

